Authors and Performers

Wizard in My Shed | Simon Farnaby | 9+

Wizard in My Shed | Simon Farnaby | 9+

Join Simon Farnaby, writer and star of the much-loved TV series Horrible Histories and scriptwriter for Paddington 2, as he talks about his The Wizard in my Shed series. This series is a hilariously silly, heartfelt adventure with a historical twist, which sees Merdyn...

Wilder than Midnight | Cerrie Burnell | 9+

Wilder than Midnight | Cerrie Burnell | 9+

A bold and evocative new adventure novel from Cerrie Burnell, celebrating difference and found family. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson, Katherine Rundell and Catherine Doyle. Silverthorne is a place of secrets. A forest of twisting paths and tangled thorns. A...

Journey to the Weatherlands | Laura Ellen Anderson | 7+

Journey to the Weatherlands | Laura Ellen Anderson | 7+

Join Amelia Fang creator Laura Ellen Anderson for a journey to The Weatherlands, the magical setting for her Rainbow Grey series. In a fun-filled hour, meet an extraordinary cast of new characters including Ray Grey and her Weatherling friends Snowden Everfreeze and...

The King’s Pants WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE | Nicholas Allan | ages 3+

The King’s Pants WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE | Nicholas Allan | ages 3+

Nicholas is the author/illustrator of best-selling picture-books, including The Queen's Knickers, Jesus' Christmas Party, Father Christmas Needs A Wee, Where Willy Went and many others. Hilltop Hospital, a tv series based on his book, won him a BAFTA. It continues to...

Planet Full of Plastic | Neal Layton | ages 6+

Planet Full of Plastic | Neal Layton | ages 6+

Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how...

The Treecreepers | Kieran Larwood | ages 8+

The Treecreepers | Kieran Larwood | ages 8+

Liska lives in Arborven, a city surrounding an extraordinary tree that gives all those living there special powers. As a shapeshifter, Liska is training as a warrior. When she discovers that the Tree is under threat, it is her duty to act - but she can't convince...

A Journey into the World of Frostheart | Jamie Littler | ages 7+

A Journey into the World of Frostheart | Jamie Littler | ages 7+

Join Jamie Littler as he delves into how he made his best-selling Frostheart series - from early inspirations to how he writes and draws the books themselves! Grab your pens for a how-to-draw draw-along of a Frostheart character and fire up your imaginations as we...

Hexed | Julia Tuffs | ages 12+

Hexed | Julia Tuffs | ages 12+

After a brief stint working in television and as a primary teacher, Julia Tuffs decided to take her writing dreams more seriously. She currently lives in South-West London with her family and ragdoll cats and spending her time writing, reading, dreaming of holidays...

Storytime with Gareth Peter | Gareth Peter | ages 3+

Storytime with Gareth Peter | Gareth Peter | ages 3+

Gareth will be reading from My Daddies, Forever Star and Who Will You Meet, and talking about his writing journey, family and books. A fun and interactive session for all those that love stories. Gareth Peter is an author and stay-at-home dad, living in Nottingham...

How Comics are Created | Russell Sheath | ages 12+

How Comics are Created | Russell Sheath | ages 12+

If you want to find out how comics are created, from ideas to publishing, Russell will show you exactly how he does it. Russell is a comic book writer and content creator who has worked for some of the most recognisable names in comics and media, including Image...

Recycled Reinvented Creatures  | Teresa Grimaldi | age 4+

Recycled Reinvented Creatures | Teresa Grimaldi | age 4+

Bring your own amazing puppet characters to life from otherwise discarded materials, with Teresa Grimaldi. Teresa is an experienced artist/educator. She loves using open ended, recycled materials to bring new creations to life both in her own sculptural, animation and...

Catch a Falling Star | Lauren Fry | ages 5+

Catch a Falling Star | Lauren Fry | ages 5+

Inspired by the mystical majesty of stars, and their power to grant wishes, children will follow Perry Como’s advice and ‘catch a falling star and put it in your pocket’ saving it for a rainy day. Creating and crafting colourful puffy paper stars, beautifully...

Tales with Legs | Sue Bailey | all ages

Tales with Legs | Sue Bailey | all ages

Tales with Legs Two legs, four legs, wooden legs, legs of races – these tales might just run away with you, or have you crossed legged or hopping on one leg.  A fun storytelling session with tales of all sorts  for anyone with none, one or more than one. Sue tells...

Author Forum | Story Festival Authors | ages 8+

Author Forum | Story Festival Authors | ages 8+

If you want to be an author, come and listen to an author panel with your questions ready for an open conversation with the IW Story Festival author forum. Ages 8-88 welcome. Friday 17th February. Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult. All participants...

Marvellous Medicine Tales | Holly Medland | ages 3+

Marvellous Medicine Tales | Holly Medland | ages 3+

Daring doctors, curious cures and quests for rare ingredients! Discover some strange historical cures and make a pomander bag to stay healthy and keep foul smells away in this fun, interactive storytelling session. Holly is a historian and storyteller, with a...

The House on Hare Hill; Bunnytastic Fun | Jules Marriner | age 3+

The House on Hare Hill; Bunnytastic Fun | Jules Marriner | age 3+

Love hares and bunnies? So does Jules. Listen to the springtime story of Little Hare and make some bunny ears to wear all day! The House on Hare Hill Hares love boxing: it's a fact. But Little Hare gives up boxing and takes up Yoga. When she goes on a walk to find...

Marvellous Mistakes! | Peta Rainford | ages 5-8

Marvellous Mistakes! | Peta Rainford | ages 5-8

Peta will be reading her rhyming picture book. Milly’s Marvellous Mistakes and showing you how to make your scribbles, blobs and smudges into marvellous works of art! Peta writes and illustrates her funny picture books on the Isle of Wight, where she lives with her...

Making Words | Adam Gaterell | ages 12+

Making Words | Adam Gaterell | ages 12+

Making words with Adam Gaterell Adam will take a group of young people on a journey through a workshop where everyone will create a new word and then a short piece of poetry surrounding it. Adam Gaterell is a high energy performance poet of 20+ years experience,...

StoryStitches – Create Your Own Story | Julia Gwynne | ages 5+

StoryStitches – Create Your Own Story | Julia Gwynne | ages 5+

Come and make your own story! A fun, interactive, no pressure session to think about what makes a good story and start creating your own, fantastic story that can be absolutely anything you like. Come with an idea or no idea at all and find out who your hero will be....

The Right Place at the Right Time | Felicity Fair Thompson | ages 7+

The Right Place at the Right Time | Felicity Fair Thompson | ages 7+

Inspired by the debut children’s book by illustrator Zoe Sadler, The Lighthouse Keeper fuses clowning, circus, comedy, and theatre in this quirky show that the whole family will enjoy. Felicity will be reading out short sections of three books, showing the beautiful...

Animal Antics | IW Library Service on Tour | all ages

Animal Antics | IW Library Service on Tour | all ages

Storytime from the Lord Louis Library - on tour at the Story Festival! Listen to some of the best animal stories with one of your favourite librarians. Fri 17th Feb 2023 Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult.

His Name is Zak | Apollo Youth Theatre | ages 12+

His Name is Zak | Apollo Youth Theatre | ages 12+

Love and hate are intimately entwined, as this story unfolds we see love in its many guises, but does it come with conditions? Growing up and finding out who you are is difficult for many teenagers, but for Zak, it was harder than most. Differing viewpoints to the...

The Lighthouse Keeper | Horsebox Theatre | ages 5+

The Lighthouse Keeper | Horsebox Theatre | ages 5+

Inspired by the debut children’s book by illustrator Zoe Sadler, The Lighthouse Keeper fuses clowning, circus, comedy, and theatre in this quirky show that the whole family will enjoy. This is the tale of a Lighthouse Keeper who isn’t very good at his job and a...

Let’s Illustrate Comics! | Meg Hewison | ages 10+

Let’s Illustrate Comics! | Meg Hewison | ages 10+

Graphic novelist Meg will be talking about her book Dancing With Lights, how she works as an illustrator and how you can too! Deep in the north a small village of cats live out their days in a clifftop village. They fish, create goods from leather and other materials,...

Rocket Works | Independent Arts | ages 7+

Rocket Works | Independent Arts | ages 7+

Come along and join in making a simple rocket, and learn about some of the history of the Island's famous rocket inventors. Isle of Wight arts for wellbeing charity working with the community for 35 years. Please come and find us at our Newport High Street creative...